EU 3D.jpg

Curaçao Residence Investment Permit Program

Pathway to Dutch (EU) Citizenship*

The Kingdom of the Netherlands

Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten

Bonaire, Saba and St Eustatius

Member of European Union


The Kingdom of the Netherlands and Curacao


Curacao is one of the four countries in The Kingdom of the Netherlands. Curacao Residence Investment Permit program provides a pathway to Dutch (EU) citizenship*.


* subject to the residence investment permit holder completed a period of five years residence, he/she/the family becomes eligible for Dutch citizenship and passport provided that the permit holder officially lives and resides in Curaçao, no legal or matters of concern, adheres to the minimum investment under the residence investment permit program and successfully passes the “inburgerings examen.” The latter refers to the fact that the investor shall dominate the basics of the Dutch and/or Papiamento languages for instance.

The Netherlands

The Netherlands is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1958 with its geographic size of 41,542 km², and population number 16,900,726, as per 2015. The Dutch comprise 3.3% of the total EU population. Its capital is Amsterdam and the official language is Dutch. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is €678,572 billion, as per 2015. Netherlands’ currency is Euro (€) since it became a member of the Eurozone on January 1, 1999. The political system is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

The Netherlands holds 26 seats in the European Parliament and held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1960 and 2016. The Netherlands is a member country of the Schengen Area since March 26, 1995.

What is the European Union?

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union, consisting of 27 member states that are subject to the obligations and the privileges of the membership.

Every member state is part of the founding treaties of the union and is subjected to binding laws within the common legislative and judicial institutions. In order for the EU to adopt policies that concern defence and foreign affairs, all member states must agree unanimously.


The European Union was founded on November 1, 1993 in Maastricht, Netherlands.

Before 1993, the EU was not as big as it is today. European countries started to cooperate economically since 1951, when only states such as Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Germany, The Netherlands and Italy participated. Gradually, more countries decided to join. The last to join is Croatia – in 2013.


Which countries belong to the EU?

The 27 European countries that are part of the EU:

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Netherlands

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania 

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden


What is Schengen region?

Schengen refers to the EU passport-free zone that covers most of the European countries. It’s the largest free travel area in the world.


For details visit this official EU link:



EU Countries.png
CW Flag.jpg
Netherland Flag.png
EU Flag.png